Hosta of the Year

With the increasing number of hosta cultivars being introduced each year it is increasingly difficult for nurserymen and gardeners to choose just the right hostas for their sales areas and gardens. To this end the American Hosta Growers Association established the AHGA Hosta of the Year in 1996. It is selected by a vote of AHGA members. Award winners are hostas that are good garden plants in all regions of the country, are widely available and in sufficient supply, and retail for about $15.00 in the year of selection.

1996 'So Sweet'
1997 'Patriot'
1998 'Fragrant Bouquet'
1999 'Paul's Glory'
2000 'Sagae'
2001 'June'
2002 'Guacamole'
2003 'Regal Splendor'
2004 'Sum and Substance'
2005 'Striptease'
2006 'Stained Glass'
2007 'Paradigm'
2008 'Blue Mouse Ears'
2009 'Earth Angel'
2010 'First Frost'
2011 'Praying Hands'
2012 'Liberty'
2013 'Rainforest Sunrise'
2014 'Abiqua Drinking Gourd'
2015 'Victory'
2016 'Curly Fries'
2017 'Brother Stefan'
2018 'World Cup'
2019 'Lakeside Paisley Print'
2020 'Dancing Queen'
2021 'Rainbow's End'

Your input and comments are appreciated, please use our contact page. You will be asked to enter an access code, please use access code whatever.

↑ back to the top ↑