Benedict Medal for Garden Performance

The Benedict Medal is the highest Garden Performance Award offered by The American Hosta Society. The award is named in honor of the late Dr. Herb Benedict, a pioneer in hosta hybridizing. The hosta selected each year is from previous Award of Merit winners. Each cultivar granted an Award of Merit becomes eligible to receive the Benedict Medal. The following introductions represent the best-of-the-best, the ultimate hostas, performing well in gardens in all regions. Winners are chosen by Garden Performance Judges across the country.

2006. 'Gold Standard'
2007, 'Whirlwind'
2008, 'One Man's Treasure'
2009, 'June'
2010, 'Sagae'
2011, 'Blue Mouse Ears'
2012, 'Niagara Falls'
2013, 'First Frost'
2014, 'Leading Lady'
2015, 'Sum and Substance'
2016, 'Blue Angel', 'Sun Power'
2017, 'Victory'
2018, 'Curly Fries'
2019, 'Sharp Dressed Man' and 'World Cup' (tie)
2020, (no award)
2021, 'Rainbow's End'
2022, 'Autumn Frost'

Your input and comments are appreciated, please use our contact page. You will be asked to enter an access code, please use access code whatever.

↑ back to the top ↑